Day 6 – Last 6 Days Living With ALS

Monday, August 30, 2010. Where is the manual that tells you what to expect when you know you are losing your mother? Where is the person that comes around and tells you how it will feel? Where are the words to describe the way that you are feeling on this day that feels like you are taking your own death walk?

Since Taneka left at 4 in the morning, maybe I should have stayed up for the rest of the night. Looking back I should have. Instead of falling asleep for a couple of hours I should have never taken my eyes off of my mother. I should have crawled in the bed with her instead of reclining in the chair next to her. I should have groomed her body like I had every day for the past 15 months. I should have tried to make her wake up, focus and get better one last time. Maybe I shouldn’t have taken that long walk in the hot sun. It made my body exhausted and my mind calm. Did I have that right?

We woke up like the day before and I like the day before that. I didn’t know what to expect so I just paid attention and took it all in. Every day over the past 15 months that I left my mother’s side to take my kids to school or go to the store or for anything, my worse fear was that she would pass away without me being there. I felt like this was our journey and it was my duty to care for her. My job would have felt incomplete if I wasn’t able to care for her to the end. But what is the end? When is the end? How does it end? Then what happens?

My husband and father came in and shortly after so did the doctors and a pastor who has known my family for nearly 40 years, Bishop Nicholson. It was awkward for all of us. It felt so unnatural to me and unfair. I wondered why God didn’t take her without us having to go through this process. I thought for sure He would. But here were are and all I see are quiet looks from the medical staff. We were blessed to have the nurse from Saturday and the day before. It was unusual to get the same nurse two days in a row much less three days in a row. He was a male nurse with extremely long salt and pepper hair. He wore glasses and his wife had my mother as a patient back in June 2009 and he remembered stories of her. He was the most compassionate nurse we ever had. I can’t recall his name but he had a similar experience in caring for his dad who had lungs that were compromised and lived on a ventilator. He was the primary caregiver for his dad and his support to me and words of comfort were greatly appreciated.

They explained the process to us. Unplugging the ventilator is not just a one, two, three pull; they had to prepare my mother so that her body wouldn’t go into distress from the process. I was familiar with the drugs that they used because they were drugs that my mother had been on for the past 8 months for pain and anxiety but they administered them in a much higher dosage.

Before the machine was unplugged we all gathered around and held hands to pray. It was around 11 AM. Just remembering that moment feels like I was a witness rather than a participant. I was holding my mother’s hand and rubbing the back of it, I used to always marvel at how butter soft her hands were and today was no different. When we were done praying it was as if it were all on cue a medical staff pulled the plug. I replay this in my head over and over and over again and I’m almost at a point where I am convincing myself that this didn’t happen. But when the ventilator was unplugged my mother opened her eyes and looked directly at me!….

It wasn’t a long lingering look but it was enough for me to tell her what was going on. I told her that “we were unplugging her from the ventilator now and taking you off all of the machines to make you more comfortable”. I believe my mind was playing tricks on me because I swear she slightly nodded her head before fully closing her eyes again. In that instant a thousand thoughts crossed my mind…were we doing the right thing? Did I have a right to make that call? But over the past 15 months my husband and I came to the conclusion that when God calls you home, no matter what type of shape you are in or what type of machine you are on, He will bring you home. If it is not your time then He won’t let you in. It’s just that simple and that is what I had to tell myself. The power and the choice was never mine to make, it was His will.

Bishop Nicholson read one of her favorite scriptures, one that she always sent me away to college with, Psalm 27. After that I felt compelled to wash her feet. So I went to the sink and filled her basin with water. I took the soap and wash cloth and proceeded in washing her feet. Like a surgical partner, my cousin Donna was right there next to me without saying a word handing me a towel to dry her off. I then began massaging her legs and feet with lotion. She hadn’t been able to walk in 9 months but I was rotating her feet like she was getting ready for a marathon.
Once that process was done I felt like I had done all I could to prepare her for this moment. All of a sudden I became overwhelmed with the feeling that there will never be another soul on earth that I could or would call “mommy” again. In that instant I collapsed into her chest and as I sobbed I cried out “mommy, mommy, mommy, mommy, mommy” I don’t know how many times or for how long. It felt like a lifetime of mommy’s that I called her. Then like a baby in the womb when a light is flashed on the expecting mother’s stomach I felt something that I wanted to move towards. I was still calling her name but not as loud because I needed to hear. What was that? Who is that?

What I heard was Bishop Nicholson praying. I couldn’t make out his words but they were so soothing to my soul! I could feel my racing heartbeat calming down. I could feel my head loosing up. I could feel my tears start to dry. I almost laughed out loud!

I snuggled closer to my mother and started whispering into her ear. I began telling her stories of things that we did in the past 15 months. The experiences that we shared. The life that we lived. Some of the stories were funny, some were scary but all were blessed.

I had no clue what was going on but what I did know was that my mother was still alive. She was still alive in a process that the doctors said would take minutes. I stood up as if waking from a slumber and I looked at the clock which was nearly 1 PM and I looked at the oxygen levels on her machine and the numbers were low but not decreasing. I said “she’s going to be ok; she’s going to be ok. We can take her home. I want to take her home. I think she can come home. What do we need to get her home around her things to finish this process?” The nurse came in and he was very supportive and told me that he would get the palliative care team to come and tell me the next step to get her home. I was so happy! I knew she was a warrior and wasn’t going to go out quickly.

We started to bustle around the room. Bishop Nicholson bid farewell. He said something that made me pause; he told my mother “Jessie, looks like you may have won this race. I will see you again at the throne.” For some reason that soothed me like a loving touch will calm a child or a sermon will touch your spirit.

The palliative care team came in and they appeared to be surprised. I welcomed them as if I was welcoming them into our home and they were there for a visit. They went over the procedures for taking her back home. They would have to monitor her for 24 hours and she would be moved today to the palliative care unit. They went over the dosage of the medicine that I would have to now administer to her to keep her comfortable and everything was wonderful. I asked them to remove her trachea and they did. That was the first time in 15 months that I had seen my mother laying like herself without being attached to machines and things.
So the palliative care team left to get the transfer to their unit started and my cousin said that she was going to the gift shop to get some more toiletries since we were staying at least another night in the hospital. As soon as she left a short woman in her mid to late 40’s came in. She had on office attire, no white lab coat or anything. She said that she was an administrator for the palliative care unit and if I’d like she could take me on a tour of the facility which was in the hospital. I love real estate and I especially love home tours so I took taking a tour like going to a homearama. So I said “of course!” My husband came too. My father stayed back and sat down with my mother in the room. Before leaving I told my mother “we will be back just taking a tour”. I checked her vitals again and they remained the same as before.

As we were walking to the elevator the woman commented that my husband’s name was popular in Canada. She was Canadian and we talked about the French, food and culture. It was an interesting conversation.

We get to the elevator it was empty and by habit, you know it was like my house, I pushed 1. The lady reached over and pushed 6. I said “oh I don’t know why I pushed 1; I don’t even know where we are going”. She smiled and said “no problem, getting off 6 will be much easier.”
The doors open at the 6th floor. None of us moved to step off. The doors remained open and since this was still the ICU unit it opened up to the lobby that looked like all the rest EXCEPT, there was a baby grand piano and framed pictures all-around of babies. It was very strange. I asked the woman what was this and where was this? She said that it was the neonatal unit and when babies go home the parents gives the unit a framed picture of their baby. She never explained the reason behind the piano….
Then I remembered my cousin. I said “oh yea, let’s go down to get Donna. She’ll like to go on the tour too.” As I said that the doors slowly closed. We went down to the 1st floor and my husband and the woman waited outside the gift shop as I went in looking for my cousin. She ended up finding me and I told her what we were about to do “cool” she said. So we joined them in the hall and proceeded to walk down and around the corner.
Now, in the back of my mind I was thinking…”ok, why did she want to get off on the 6th floor when it’s oblivious that the palliative care unit is on this floor?” We didn’t go up we stayed on that floor. We had to make some twists and turns but never up….

We got to the unit and I noticed the drawings of butterflies on the ceiling tiles. She said that was for the patients when they came in laying on their backs so that they would have something pleasant to look at. She took us to the lounge which was like a family room. There was a TV, microwave, videos, cd’s, DVD’s, refrigerator, sofas and vending machines. There was art work hanging up that clearly was done by children but was very creative. It was cozy. Then she introduced us to the staff at the desk and said that my mom was going to be coming there that day. They welcomed us. Then she showed us the rooms that were spacious and had their own bathrooms. On our way out as she handed us a soda I asked “where will my mother go? All of the rooms are occupied.” She said “oh we will double someone up if need be but I believe someone is going home today.” That sounded reasonable to me so I said “ok, great!”
When we left the palliative care unit she paused outside of its doors and asked us did we know about the “healing garden”. Now this is my house, I couldn’t believe that there was a garden or anything about that hospital that I didn’t know about. Yes, the healing garden is a garden that some families donated to the hospital. She said it was very peaceful and tranquil. It sounded divine! So we agreed to have her take us there.
We walked further down the hall around a corner or two onto an elevator and down 1 or 2 floors. When we got off the elevator we walked down a long hall way that was like an art gallery. I commented to my cousin that this would be a great field trip for a school! She agreed. We then walked outside past valet parking. I remember looking up at one of the two buildings that lined either side of the street and seeing a huge shadow of a triangle. I am a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. and the Greek letter for Delta is the triangle symbol. That triangle represents the word change. I just stared up at it as something so symbolic at that moment. We went into the building that was across the street from the building with the Delta symbol on it. We went past the reference desk and through a set of glass doors and back outside into the most luscious garden I’ve ever been in that was located directly in the middle of a city!

Every turn there was some sort of waterfall or fountain. There were green plants and a large variety of blooming flowers. There were different types of seating available from wrought iron to natural wood swings. My cousin pulled out her camera and began snapping all types of shots.
At some point the lady started backing up and said that we “could stay here as long as you like.” I want to say we said thank you but I don’t remember saying much at that point. I found a natural wood swing nestled among some blooming vines. I sat down on it and began swinging and swinging. It felt like it was the first time ever that I sat down. My husband sat down on the ground and just lay back taking it all in. Shortly my cousin joined my on the swing. That garden was built on top of a parking deck off of 95 heading south.

After a while my cousin says “I’m hungry. You know what I would love? Some cafeteria fries. You know I love good cafeteria food and the food here is pretty good so I bet their fries are good.” All you have to do is mention food and my husband will be all over that. So when he heard her say that he said “you know I am a little hungry too. I wouldn’t mind some fries either.” So we all got up and never looked back and hoped that we could find our way back.

We went back out, pass the valet and into the other building. My cousin said “I want to get some information about this area I think I saw some magazine or something at a desk over there. I’ll be right back.” Waiting for her made me take a closer look at some of the pictures on the wall. There was a gallery of black and white photos that were framed. The pictures depicted everything about life. There were marriage scenes, birth scenes, urban areas, suburbs, country, happiness, sadness, etc. I looked at the small metal plate that told who the photographer was. The name didn’t stick with me but the year span that all of the photos were taken did. The photos were taken from 1969-2010. That seemed odd to me because we were only in August of 2010 so I wondered why did this photographer stop taking pictures now. 1969 struck me as odd too because that was the year that I was born. Before I could give it more thought my cousin came back with some literature that she was stuffing into her bag. So we were ready.

We found our way through the maze that we came and that none of us paid attention to. We so happened to be passing the cafeteria too. We were just about to turn in when I said “oh wait, let’s go back up to my mother’s room and see if my dad would like something to eat too. He might be hungry.” So we turned down the hall got onto the elevator and went back to my mother’s room.

Because in January 2010 my mother got MRSA while in the hospital for pain control, whenever you went into her room you had to wear a blue gown. So we all grabbed a gown at the door and as I was tying my gown I was telling my dad about the healing garden. As a former florist I knew he would love that and as I was telling him, Donna got out her camera and began showing him her pictures. When I finished tying my gown I looked up at the machine that was keeping track of my mother’s oxygen levels. My heart dropped as I was forced back to reality. Her numbers had decreased considerably since we left at like 1PM, it was now 4 PM! Where did time go?

I looked back at my husband and father and said “this is it.”
Everyone gathered around. I was standing on my mother’s right side holding her hand; my father was standing on my right side holding my hand. My husband was standing on my mother’s left side holding her hand and Donna was standing on his left side holding his hand and my dad’s hand. We just stood there silent. The machine was doing a countdown. It was at 30 and steady decreasing. Then, all of a sudden, the back part of her bed moved up! What in the world? My husband is 6-6 300 lbs. and sometimes he can be like an elephant in a china store. So I said “Clarence? What are you doing? Why would you play around at a time like this?” We all stepped back to make sure we weren’t touching any controls. He said “I didn’t touch anything, I’m not on anything.” Donna confirmed that nothing was on their side. So we went back to the countdown and as it got down to 11 I felt like I was looking at the ball drop at Times Square for New Year’s Eve. It was a serious countdown and I could see her taking each of those breaths. Then it went down to 5-4-3-2-1. As soon as it got to 1 her bed sat her completely up like I used to put her bed in order to get her out every morning. It was the most astonishing thing that I have ever seen! Donna said “My God, Aunt Jessie said ‘I’m not going out laying down.’”

My mother was a pioneer in many things throughout her life. She lived her life making a change and making a difference. In her memory I will continue to do what I can do to fight the ALS fight. My strength is in being an advocate and a resource to other families. That is something that I did with her while she lived with it and it is what I will continue to do.

ALS is not an easy journey. Even as I write this I am constantly reminded that it is more common than not as I am made aware of mothers, fathers, grandmothers, grandfathers, sons and daughters that are being diagnosed daily with this disease.

On this day, Monday, August 30, 2010 at 4:10PM EST my mother went to her heavenly home. I lost my mother but I also feel like I lost a child. I cared for her as a mother would a child. But I’m not sure if she is the child that I feel I lost. I feel like the child that I lost is me.

Thank you for allowing me to share my last 6 days living with ALS. Upon finishing this I am realizing that once ALS runs through your family there are no last days of living with it until there is a known cause and cure. As long as there are people living with ALS in this world, then so am I.
God Bless!

Jessie L. Barnes ~Devoted wife, amazing mother, dedicated daughter, sister, aunt, compassionate friend, fierce businesswoman

Sunrise April 16, 1940  Sunset August 30, 2010

About alscaregiver

Sherri was the primary caregiver for her mother who lived with ALS. Her mother was diagnosed with the dis-ease in October 2008 and passed away August 30, 2010. As an entrepreneur it allowed Sherri the flexibility and resources to care for her mother full-time. She is a career and marketing coach who works with people who are transitioning careers and/or starting a new business. By living while alive, Sherri's mother, Mrs. Jessie Barnes, still experienced a quality of life as her ALS progressed. The family of Jessie Barnes was honored to be the lead/chair family for the Walk to Defeat ALS in Richmond, VA on October 23, 2010. They walked in memory of Jessie Barnes. Sherri is still a strong advocate for ALS and as the wife of a 10 year NFL veteran she is striving to become a family advocate for other NFL families living with ALS. Sherri can be heard every Sunday 9-10 PM EST as a host on www.talk2mesportsradio.com. Her show is Real Talk With Coach Sherri and she discusses life after sports and careers in sports. You can call in to join the conversation at 646-716-5245 or listen online. Sherri does professional development workshops for small and large groups that consists of customized training that focuses on empowerment. For more information or to connect with Sherri go to info@coach-sherri.com.
This entry was posted in ALS Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Day 6 – Last 6 Days Living With ALS

  1. I just started blogging and found your post. My brother passed away from ALS at age 34 in May, 2001, HE was also disconnected from machines and ventilators, at his request. We were all there. Your recollection of what happened is eerily similar to our experience. May your Mother rest in peace. And I, like you, pray there will one day be a cure.

    • alscaregiver says:

      Thank you for your comment on my blog. ALS is a disease that really makes you embrace and understand the real richness of life. I am sorry that your brother had it and at such a young age! We can’t take any day or moment for granted.

    • alscaregiver says:

      Victoria, I just realized that I did not reply to your comment. ALS kind of becomes this exclusive society where words don’t have to be spoken in order to be understood. ALS continues to prove that age is just a number. I just met a 19 year old today with this dis-ease. Thank you for taking the time out to read my blog. I wish you all the best with yours, I’ll have to check it out sometime!

  2. sarah stein says:

    Thank you Sheri, for taking me back through your journey…

  3. allynsalley says:

    My father died of ALS exactly 18 years ago today. I was not his caregiver; my mother was, and it was a sorrowful journey.

  4. Pingback: ALS Caregiver’s Blog: Storm ALS « Alscaregiver's Blog

  5. geraldine says:

    You know my momnhas been diagnosed with als just june of this year and she is already in the last stage. She decided to let it take the normal course having no tubes. Today she has been rushed to the ER and apparently aspirated I cam feel “the moment” coming I am beyond terrified… but after reading this blog goshhh u took all the words out of my mouth. I dnt know how ill get through this but I feel I must be strong until the very end.

    • alscaregiver says:

      Geraldine,
      I am not going to say this is going to be easy. We all know about the circle of life, but when it is right there happening so quick and in such a way that ALS brings it on, can be terrifying. By staying strong, I made certain to stay as present as possible, meaning, understanding each moment and taking all the things that were happening in. I pray for your mothers comfort and your peace. Continue to speak with your mother, share stories and memories.
      Stay strong,
      Sherri

  6. David Brown says:

    Thank you for your story , I have ALS and I’m starting my 5th year with this disease , I’m getting towards the end of my journey and reading your story has made me feel better about mine. Although I have no one to share my final days with I’m glad you and your family were ther for your mom , I was beside my parents when they went to heaven and the peacefulness has helped me with my impending final curtain

  7. Gerrie Hanke says:

    I was just told yesterday that my mother has ALS and I believe she is in the late
    Stage. What do I expect how do I go on. She is my best
    Friend and I’m dying inside. I don’t want her to go
    But yet I hate seeing her like this. The are putting her in
    A ventalator tomorrow and she already has a feeding tube
    In. Just no answer of how long she has. She has been in
    The hospital 16 days out of the past month what a happy
    New year this is for all of us.

  8. Amanda says:

    Thanks for this story. It is what I am going through now. My mother is in the last stages of ALS and it all came so fast. I feel like my life is a blur right now. Her breathing is horrible. My father and I agreed not to put her in a.ventaliator as she would not want that. I just sit here waiting now and want her to be at peace. Thanks again fir this article.

  9. Nina says:

    Hi
    I am the daughter of an incredible woman who is fighting her fight with ALS. she is at home, on a ventilator since March. Me and my two brothers are the caregivers, as you say we are present as much as possible…we want to be with her as much as we can. My mom is 65years old, and was diagnosed in Nov/2013. The big question is…how much longer those she has to suffer? How is process of dying? How we would know is near? Please give light….

    • alscaregiver says:

      Hi Nina,
      I apologize for the late reply. I know how urgent you must feel trying to find your way and understand this dis-ease. ALS progresses in everyone so differently. Some people can live for years on a ventilator. My mother lived for 15 months on hers and I truly believe that she would have lived longer if certain circumstances did not make her feel as if she was being a burden. Her will to live decreased. When I reflect back to her last week I recall her being very uncomfortable. There was nothing that we could do to make her comfortable. There was nothing that we could buy to make her comfortable. Even though she couldn’t speak by the end, she stopped communicating with us. She became very quiet and seemed reflective. I wish I would have asked her about her thoughts during that time. But truthfully, since I took care of her 24 hours every day, I was exhausted. So I also spoke very little during that last week. Her cause of death was actually a heart attack and stroke. I witnessed the entire process. She could have lingered on the vent but we made the choice to take her off of it at the end….
      I hope my response has given you some clarity. Love your mom as much as possible and take care of yourself in the process. God bless your family.

  10. Lee says:

    Thank you for your story. I am the daughter of a very graceful and strong woman who is slowly bowing to bulbar ALS. She has not been able to say a word for the past 9 months–and she had the most beautiful South Carolina low country accent. I miss it so much!! My mom is 84 years old and was diagnosed 1 year ago–symptoms started almost 2 years ago. She uses noninvasive ventilation for about 12 hours a day. Every day now, she seems to get weaker and weaker.

    It is kind of you to let us into your world during those last days. I wonder every day how we will proceed and how we will react. God is in control and I pray for his guidance in making decisions with and for her. Thank you for sharing…

  11. John Cleek says:

    First sorry for your loss my mother is dealing with this now and I’ve moved down from Indiana to Florida to help her during this time I don’t know if what is happening are dealing with trying to get her the help she needs is the most frustrating but to be able to read others experiences sometimes is helpful tgankyou

    • alscaregiver says:

      I think it is a combination of both John, dealing with the ALS and with trying to find the assistance that you need. Neither gives you peace of mind. One of my main reasons for writing a blog describing our journey was to let others who are experiencing the same know that they are not alone. Try not to let your mother see the frustration that you may feel, reassure her that everything is working out. All the best to you and stay strong!

  12. Lynda says:

    Just came across this touching blog, thank you so much for sharing. Such a sad, yet beautiful and poignant story, one that is sure to help others in their journey. A friend of mine recently passed due to ALS and left behind a husband and teenage daughter. I am struggling to find words to say or know what to do …

    • alscaregiver says:

      Thank you Lynda. I recommend that you say less and listen more. One of the reasons I started this blog is because I found that most people in my circle, outside of my immediate family, didn’t want to hear about my journey. I don’t know if it’s because they don’t believe it or don’t care. So instead of feeling rushed or as if I was intruding, I am able to write out my feelings completely. So be there as an ear that they can count on.

  13. janicebo3 says:

    Thank you all for your thoughts and sentiments. My mom hasn’t been officially diagnosed by neurology but her GP told us last week, it is ALS. My mom’s symptoms began last summer with garbled speech. She fell and had a sub-arachnoid bleed at Christmas, so the diagnosis was obscured by the bleed. Her speech is going and she is becoming weaker by the day. She has good and bad days but it is noticeable she is becoming very tired. She also has episodes of crying and fear. We are all heart broken for her and for my dad, who is there for her but feels at a loss for what to do and say. My mom is still able to eat and drink but often has coughing spells. She is considering a tube to help with at least medication and water.
    Hugs and prayers to all who are going or have gone through losing a loved one to this devastating disease.

    • alscaregiver says:

      God bless your family. Continue to adapt as your mother changes. If you haven’t done this already, ask her questions about her childhood and past memories and capture them. Help her remember the good times and create even more good times by surrounding her with love. Never let her feel as if she is a burden to anyone. Look into other ways that she can communicate so that if she completely loses the ability to speak, it will be in place. Praying for your strength and peace.

Leave a comment